Saarland Music Data (SMD)
This website is no longer being updated. Please visit to check for updates of the Saarland Music Data (SMD).

SMD MIDI-Audio Piano Music

Saarland Music Data provides audio recordings along with perfectly synchronized MIDI files for various piano pieces. The pieces were performed by students of the Hochschule für Musik Saar on a hybrid acoustic/digital piano (Yamaha Disklavier). The Disklavier allows for capturing key and pedal movements of the piano while playing. This information, which can be stored in a MIDI file, yields an accurate annotation of the corresponding audio recording in form of a symbolic description of all played musical note events. The SMD MIDI-Audio pairs constitute a valuable dataset for various music analysis tasks such as music transcription, performance analysis, music synchronization, audio alignment, or source separation.


If you publish results obtained using these datasets, please cite

Meinard Müller, Verena Konz, Wolfgang Bogler, and Vlora Arifi-Müller
Saarland Music Data (SMD)
In Late-Breaking and Demo Session of the International Conference on Music Information Retrieval (ISMIR), 2011.
[bibtex] [pdf]

Creative Commons License
Saarland Music Data (SMD) by Saarland Music Data (SMD) is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-NonCommercial-ShareAlike 3.0 Unported License.

Naming Convention

For the audio and MIDI files, we use the following naming convention:
For the variables, the following conventions are taken into account:

Example: Beethoven_Op057-02_013_20090221-SMD.mp3
MP3 recording of Beethoven's piano sonata Opus 57, second movement, played by pianist 013 recorded on Feb. 21, 2009.

Technical Information

All performances were recorded in the studios of the Hochschule für Musik Saar, played by students of piano classes of different levels, on a Yamaha Disklavier model DCFIIISM4PRO. Using two cardioid-condenser microphones fixed over the resonating body of the piano, all performances were directly recorded into Steinberg Cubase 4. Except for trimming the beginnings and ends of the recordings, no further post-processing (filters, effects) was applied to the music material. From each Cubase project, an audio file (44.1 kHz, stereo) as well as a synchronized standard MIDI file (SMF) was exported. The audio files were then converted into MP3 files (192 kbit/s) encoded with Lame. Correctly decoded MP3 files should result in WAV files with a temporal synchronization accuracy of 10 ms on the note onset level. The overall temporal accuracy is limited by internal delays of the Disklavier and the speed of sound.

Warning: The audio and MIDI files are temporally synchronized. However, there may be a global offset introduced by various reasons (decoding, MIDI parser, etc.). We recommend to decode the MP3 with Lame. Furthermore, the following table indicates the time in seconds at which the onset of the first note of the MIDI occurs in the audio (use this information with caution since it has not yet been double checked). This information allows to compensate for the global offset.


No. Filename Audio MIDI First note onset
1 Bach_BWV849-01_001_20090916-SMD mp3 mid 2.549
2 Bach_BWV849-02_001_20090916-SMD mp3 mid 0.191
3 Bach_BWV871-01_002_20090916-SMD mp3 mid 0.861
4 Bach_BWV871-02_002_20090916-SMD mp3 mid 1.027
5 Bach_BWV875-01_002_20090916-SMD mp3 mid 1.336
6 Bach_BWV875-02_002_20090916-SMD mp3 mid 1.472
7 Bach_BWV888-01_008_20110315-SMD mp3 mid 1.352
8 Bach_BWV888-02_008_20110315-SMD mp3 mid 1.706
9 Bartok_SZ080-01_002_20110315-SMD mp3 mid 1.143
10 Bartok_SZ080-02_002_20110315-SMD mp3 mid 1.085
11 Bartok_SZ080-03_002_20110315-SMD mp3 mid 0.892
12 Beethoven_Op027No1-01_003_20090916-SMD mp3 mid 1.255
13 Beethoven_Op027No1-02_003_20090916-SMD mp3 mid 0.268
14 Beethoven_Op027No1-03_003_20090916-SMD mp3 mid 0.312
15 Beethoven_Op031No2-01_002_20090916-SMD mp3 mid 0.543
16 Beethoven_Op031No2-02_002_20090916-SMD mp3 mid 1.875
17 Beethoven_Op031No2-03_002_20090916-SMD mp3 mid 0.284
18 Beethoven_WoO080_001_20081107-SMD mp3 mid 0.824
19 Brahms_Op005-01_002_20110315-SMD mp3 mid 0.975
20 Brahms_Op010No1_003_20090916-SMD mp3 mid 2.150
21 Brahms_Op010No2_003_20090916-SMD mp3 mid 1.552
22 Chopin_Op010-03_007_20100611-SMD mp3 mid 0.927
23 Chopin_Op010-04_007_20100611-SMD mp3 mid 0.261
24 Chopin_Op026No1_003_20100611-SMD mp3 mid 0.799
25 Chopin_Op026No2_005_20100611-SMD mp3 mid 1.077
26 Chopin_Op028-01_003_20100611-SMD mp3 mid 0.616
27 Chopin_Op028-03_003_20100611-SMD mp3 mid 0.444
28 Chopin_Op028-04_003_20100611-SMD mp3 mid 0.620
29 Chopin_Op028-11_003_20100611-SMD mp3 mid 0.572
30 Chopin_Op028-15_006_20100611-SMD mp3 mid 1.229
31 Chopin_Op028-17_005_20100611-SMD mp3 mid 1.045
32 Chopin_Op029_004_20100611-SMD mp3 mid 0.411
33 Chopin_Op048No1_007_20100611-SMD mp3 mid 0.742
34 Chopin_Op066_006_20100611-SMD mp3 mid 1.102
35 Haydn_Hob017No4_003_20090916-SMD mp3 mid 1.013
36 Haydn_HobXVINo52-01_008_20110315-SMD mp3 mid 0.840
37 Haydn_HobXVINo52-02_008_20110315-SMD mp3 mid 0.896
38 Haydn_HobXVINo52-03_008_20110315-SMD mp3 mid 1.182
39 Liszt_AnnesDePelerinage-LectureDante_002_20090916-SMD mp3 mid 2.227
40 Liszt_KonzertetuedeNo2LaLeggierezza_003_20090916-SMD mp3 mid 1.700
41 Liszt_VariationenBachmotivWeinenKlagenSorgenZagen_001_20090916-SMD mp3 mid 1.296
42 Mozart_KV265_006_20110315-SMD mp3 mid 1.026
43 Mozart_KV398_002_20110315-SMD mp3 mid 1.063
44 Rachmaninoff_Op036-01_007_20110315-SMD mp3 mid 0.914
45 Rachmaninoff_Op036-02_007_20110315-SMD mp3 mid 1.064
46 Rachmaninoff_Op036-03_007_20110315-SMD mp3 mid 1.176
47 Rachmaninov_Op039No1_002_20090916-SMD mp3 mid 6.275
48 Ravel_JeuxDEau_008_20110315-SMD mp3 mid 1.025
49 Ravel_ValsesNoblesEtSentimentales_003_20090916-SMD mp3 mid 2.111
50 Skryabin_Op008No8_003_20090916-SMD mp3 mid 0.906

Download Instructions

When clicking on a link to a file, your browser either will ask you to download and/or open it with your favourite audio player, or the file will be played directly in the browser (depending on your system configuration). To save the file, just right-click on the link and then click 'Save Target As' (Firefox) or 'Save Link As' (Internet Explorer). In case you want to download all files, you can use a download manager, e.g. the DownThemAll Firefox extension . On a unix-like system, you can use the tool wget to download all music files on this web page by using the following two commands:
wget REPLACE_THIS_STRING_BY_URL_OF_THIS_WEBSITE -e robots=off -r -l1 -nd --no-parent -A.{mp3,mid}